All That She Can See

Carrie Hope Fletcher showed us again what an amazing mind she has, just like in her other book On the Other Side. In All That She Can See she turned such a realistic thing of our everyday life into something magical. The book is about Cherry Redgrave, who is a baker, but she is not a normal baker, she has a gift. As a baker, she starts to help people and travels around the UK and opens several bakeries. In one city, she meets Chase and discovers that he has a gift as well and both start a kind of turf war.

First, I must say that I absolutely love this book. It is so magical but so real at the same time. I instantly fell in love with the characters, especially Cherry. I related very much to her, she is someone who just want to help people as best as she can. For me she is kind of like Mary Poppins and Nanny McPhee! The quote from Nanny McPhee: “When you need me, but don’t want me I must stay. When you want me, but no longer need me, then I have to go.” reminds me a lot of Cherry. When she thinks her work in one City is done and she can’t help anymore she leaves and helps another city. For me she is such a kind soul!
I did not like Chase that much to be honest. He is just not such a nice guy in my opinion, but luckily, he changed and knew that he had done things wrong.
Also the other friends Cherry made, Sally and Margie and all the others were so nice.

Some things were kind of surreal for me, like they did not fit into the book to well. The Guild was a bit out of place and appeared so quickly and took a big part in the story. But in the end, it was okay again. I can’t really describe it very well, but in the end, it turned out pretty okay.
Also the romantic relationship between Cherry and Chase jumped right out of the nowhere to be honest. Both were fighting against each other and suddenly they fell deeply in love. I mean they belong to each other but it happened so quickly.

It’s very nice to have such a everyday topic turned into a magical thing. Cherry is a heroine for me, she shows that kind acts (even when she does a bit of magic too) can help a lot of people with their feelings/problems. A very good book. I loved it.

My Rating: ☼☼☼☼☼

Leave a Reply

