Footloose (2011)

Footloose is one of my favorite movies of all time! It is a remake of the 1984 version of the movie with the same name. To be honest, I’ve never watched the older version but I hope some day I’ll get to watch it. Footloose is an American musical dance film and got its name from the song Footloose by Kenny Loggins (a cover of this song by Blake Shelton is used in the 2011 movie).The movie is about Ren (Kenny Wormald) who moves to Bomont to live with his uncle, aunt and cousins after his mother died. Three years ago, 5 teenagers died in a car accident after a party and therefore, a lot of (ridiculous) rules and laws were made in Bomont. For example, they banned dancing and hearing loud music. Ren befriends with Willard (Miles Teller) and gets attracted to Shaw Moore’s, the Reverend (Dennis Quaid), daughter Ariel (Julianne Hough). Because of this Ren stumbles into a few problems with the Reverend and also Ariel’s boyfriend Chuck (Patrick Flueger). Ren adores dancing and wants to have a prom where they can dance. He starts a dancing movement and finds lots of supporters and he goes before the council. At the end, there is a prom outside the city where they dance.

On of my absolute favorite characters is Willard! He is such a good friend and a very funny person and I love his dancing! Also Ren’s dancing is so wonderful and amazing to watch! There are a lot of talented people in this movie! But I am not really friends with Ariel, I just don’t like her character much. But she is also a very good dancer!

Besides the dancing in the movie I really love the songs! Not only the song Footloose is stuck in my head, but also the song Fake I.D. by Big & Rich feat. Gretchen Wilson. Those are such good dancing songs!

I absolutely love watching dance and musical movies, so Footloose is a good choice for me. It is a really good movie!

My Rating: ☼☼☼☼☼

Leave a Reply

