The Jungle Book (2016)

A few days ago I watched The Jungle Book, an american fantasy adventure movie. It’s a live acting movie inspired from Disney’s The Jungle Book (1967) and based on Rudyard Kipling’s stories.

The movie is about the human boy Mowgli (Neel Sethi) who is raised by wolfs in the jungle. There he makes a lot of new friends throughout the whole jungle but also some enemies. One day Shere Kahn (voiced by Idris Elba), a tiger who wants to kill Mowgli and abuses the rules of the jungle. With the help of his wolf-family and his friends Bagheera (voiced by Ben Kingsley) and Baloo (voiced by Bill Murray) Mowgli tries to escape the jungle and go back to the human village. As nearly everyone knows the story of Mowgli we all know that this is not going to happen how it was wished!

I am a big fan of the old animated Disney version of the movie and really wanted to see the live acting movie too. I have to say I’ve missed a few scenes from the old movie I wanted to see and also they did not play all the songs in the new movie I know from the old one. For example I’ve really missed the song from the Elephant March! But nevertheless I really enjoyed watching the movie.

The few human actors in the movie did a really good job and Mowgli looks really cute. They animated the animals really well and they all have a wonderful Voice! I was a bit surprised that Kaa (voiced by Scarlett Johansson) was a female snake in the new movie, I am pretty sure in the book and in the old Disney movie the snake is male. Also King Louie (voiced by Christopher Walken) is a little bit scary to me! But to be honest I’ve never liked him.

The new Jungle Book movie is a really good movie and very refreshing to see that Disney is doing more live acting movies of old animated ones. I really enjoyed watching the film and recommend it to everyone who loves Disney. But everyone can watch it and it is a wonderful family movie too.

My rating: ☼☼☼☼☼

Leave a Reply

